A Birthday Reflection

Another birthday I celebrate today. And I’m thankful. Thankful for another  year of life. To come full circle to this annual birth-grimage; journey to life is a blessing. To know that first God chose me to enter into this world to fulfill a purpose that is his and his alone grounds me. It centers me with Him from whom I came.  His decision to select my parents as my pathway to life was intentional, but he is my life (this life and after life) guide.

Before writing this post this morning, I was lying in my bed quietly going through my mental checklist of all the things I want to accomplish today.  Then suddenly my daughter tip-toed into my bedroom singing the “Happy Birthday” song. Feeling her cheeks up against mine; feeling her breathe made me feel so alive and fortunate to know that I am still here fulfilling God’s purposes.  Yes, I believe I am here for more than one purpose. Feeling my daughter’s skin up against my skin made me realize that this life of mine is bigger than me and that just like He used my parents as my pathway to life, He has also used me as a pathway for my children and so much more.  And I realize that I am also a pathway for his purposes. His purposes are mine.

I will admit I haven’t always felt this way. So close to God.  I guess age, which also comes with life experiences has a way of bringing you to such closeness and intimacy with God. Because if you live this life long enough, you soon realize that life can throw you so many curve balls and landmines that God has a way of showing you that you need and want Him in your corner, on your team.

This morning I am thankful for those curve balls and landmines and I would be remiss if I did not say I was also thankful for the confetti He has thrown my way as well.  The beautiful, colorful confetti that he showers upon me like snow falling in the twilight of a day.  I accept all of it, the good and the things I have questioned (What are you doing God?  Why God?) have made me who I am today – a work in progress.  Being in this state of mind brings me peace.  For with this mindset, I embrace who I am, where I am, where I am going, and who I am with.  I’m with Him.  And he is with me.

Now, it’s time to go for a morning walk.  It’s my birthday!  I can do what I want.  I mean He wants. Walk with me God.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

